BOARD OF VISITORS BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE MINUTES

May 14, 2020

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the Board of Visitors of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University met on Thursday, May 14, 2020, at 3:00 p.m. On this date, the Commonwealth of Virginia was operating under a state of emergency as declared by Governor Northam due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This was an entirely electronic meeting held via Zoom videoconference to conduct regular business as permitted by legislation passed by the General Assembly on April 22, 2020, and signed into law by Governor Northam. A quorum of the Buildings and Grounds Committee was present on the videoconference.

Buildings and Grounds Committee Members Present: Absent:

Mr. Horacio Valeiras (Rector)

Mr. C.T. Hill (Chair)

Ms. Shelly Butler Barlow

Mr. Mehul Sanghani

Mr. Dennis Treacy

Mr. Jeff Veatch

Mr. Preston White

Other Board Members Present:

Mr. Edward Baine

Ms. Greta Harris (departed at 3:50 p.m.)

Ms. Letitia Long

Mr. L. Chris Petersen

Constituent Representatives Present:

Dr. John Ferris (Faculty Representative)

Ms. Tamarah Smith (Staff Representative)

Ms. Madelynn Todd (Undergraduate Student Representative)

Also present on the Zoom videoconference were the following: President Timothy Sands, Ms. Kim O'Rourke (Secretary to the Board), Dr. Laura Belmonte, Mr. Bob Broyden, Mr. David Chinn, Dr. Cyril Clarke, Mr. Al Cooper, Mr. Brandon Dove, Mr. Corey Earles, Mr. Kari Evans, Major General Randal Fullhart, Ms. Elaine Gall, Mr. Mark Gess, Dr. Alan Grant, Ms. Kay Heidbreder, Mr. Pat Hilt, Dr. Frances Keene, Dr. Chris Kiwus, Ms. Liza Morris, Dr. Sally Morton, Dr. Saied Mostaghimi, Ms. Heidi Myers, Ms. Michelle Naert (captioner), Dr. Ed Nelson, Dr. Dwayne Pinkney, Ms. Brandy Salmon, Dr. Ken Smith, Ms. Heather Snidow, Mr. Dwyn Taylor, and Mr. Jon Clark Teglas

In addition, up to 39 members of the university community and public viewed a live stream of the videoconference on YouTube Live Web Streaming Service.

* * * * * * * * * *

- **1. Welcome:** The Committee Chair convened the meeting and provided welcoming remarks. Chris Kiwus, Associate Vice President and Chief Facilities Officer, provided brief remarks on COVID-19 impacts on general facilities operations.
- **2. Consent Agenda:** The Committee approved and accepted the items on the Consent Agenda:
 - a. **Approval of the Minutes from the November 17, 2019 Meeting:** The Committee approved the minutes from the November 17, 2019 meeting.
 - b. Acceptance of the Capital Project Status Report: Chris Kiwus, Associate Vice President and Chief Facilities Officer, provided brief remarks on COVID-19 impacts on capital construction projects. Board members discussed these impacts. The Committee accepted the quarterly capital project status report.
- * 3. Resolution to Clarify a Previous Board Action Regarding the Virginia Tech/Montgomery Regional Airport Authority: The Committee approved the resolution affirming that the grant assurance documents will supersede the language in the Agreement for Purchase and Sale of Real Estate.
 - **4. Annual Report of the University Building Official:** The Committee accepted the Annual Report of the University Building Official, Elaine Gall.
 - 5. Update on Agricultural Facilities Planning and Construction: The Committee received an update from Alan Grant, Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, on agricultural facilities planning and construction.
 - **6. Design Preview for the Data and Decision Sciences Building:** The Committee approved the design preview for the Data and Decision Sciences Building.
 - 7. Design Preview for the New Upper Quad Residence Hall: The Committee approved the design preview for the New Upper Quad Residence Hall.
 - 8. Design Preview for the Innovation Campus Academic I Building: The Committee approved the design preview for the Innovation Campus Academic I Building.
 - **9. Future Agenda Items and Closing Remarks:** The Committee discussed potential topics and tour opportunities for inclusion on future meeting agendas.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:49 p.m.

^{*} Requires full Board approval.

BOARD OF VISITORS BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE MINUTES

May 27, 2020

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the Board of Visitors of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University met on Wednesday, May 27, 2020, at 2:15 p.m. On this date, the Commonwealth of Virginia was operating under a state of emergency as declared by Governor Northam due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This was an entirely electronic meeting held via Zoom videoconference to conduct regular business as permitted by legislation passed by the General Assembly on April 22, 2020, and signed into law by Governor Northam. A quorum of the Buildings and Grounds Committee was present on the videoconference.

Buildings and Grounds Committee Members Present: Absent:

Mr. Horacio Valeiras (Rector)

Mr. C.T. Hill (Chair)

Ms. Shelly Butler Barlow

Mr. Mehul Sanghani

Mr. Dennis Treacy

Mr. Jeff Veatch

Mr. Preston White (joined at 2:20 p.m.)

Other Board Members Present:

Mr. Edward Baine

Ms. Greta Harris

Mr. L. Chris Petersen

Constituent Representatives Present:

Dr. John Ferris (Faculty Representative)

Ms. Tamarah Smith (Staff Representative)

Also present on the Zoom videoconference were the following:

President Timothy Sands, Ms. Kim O'Rourke (Secretary to the Board), Mr. Whit Babcock, Ms. Lori Buchanan, Dr. Cyril Clarke, Dr. Karen DePauw, Mr. Al Cooper, Mr. Corey Earles, Mr. Kari Evans, Dr. Mike Friedlander, Mr. Bryan Garey, Mr. Mark Gess, Ms. Rebekah Gunn, Ms. Kay Heidbreder, Dr. Chris Kiwus, Ms. Sharon Kurek, Ms. Angie Littlejohn, Dr. Scott Midkiff, Mr. Charles Phlegar, Dr. Dwayne Pinkney, Dr. Menah Pratt-Clarke, Ms. Lenore Schatz (captioner), Mr. Brad Sumpter, Mr. Dwyn Taylor, Dr. G. Don Taylor, Mr. Jon Clark Teglas, Ms. Tracy Vosburgh, Ms. Melinda West, Mr. Brad Wurthman, and Mr. Chris Yianilos

In addition, up to 28 members of the university community and public viewed a live stream of the videoconference on YouTube Live Web Streaming Service.

* * * * * * * * * *

- 1. Welcome: The Committee Chair convened the meeting and provided welcoming remarks. President Sands, at the request of Chairman Hill, provided brief remarks on COVID-19 impacts on capital construction project planning and execution.
- * 2. Resolution on Appointment to the Montgomery Regional Solid Waste Authority: The Committee approved the resolution recommending that Sharon G. Scott be appointed as joint representative to the Montgomery Regional Solid Waste Authority Board of Directors.
- * 3. Resolution on Appointment to the New River Valley Regional Water Authority: The Committee approved the resolution reappointing Christopher H. Kiwus, Associate Vice President and Chief Facilities Officer, as the university's representative to the New River Valley Regional Water Authority through June 30, 2024.
- * 4. Resolution of Support on Appointment to the New River Resource Authority: The Committee approved the resolution affirming the appointment of Christopher H. Kiwus, Associate Vice President and Chief Facilities Officer, in his role as the university's representative to the Montgomery Regional Solid Waste Authority, to the New River Resource Authority Board of Directors.
- * 5. Resolution of Support for Projects and Use of Bond Financing by the New River Valley Regional Water Authority: The Committee approved the resolution supporting New River Valley Regional Water Authority projects and use of bond financing.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:27 p.m.

^{*} Requires full Board approval.